GUSD Honors Nine Distinguished Educators

Congratulations to Marjorie Ryckman, who has been selected as the inaugural GUSD Distinguished Teacher of the Year. Ms. Ryckman, a fourth grade teacher at Isla Vista School, was selected from among Distinguished Educators previously chosen by fellow teachers at each District school.

This year’s recognition marks the beginning of a new program to annually honor one Distinguished Teacher at each school, and one District Distinguished Educator. This year’s inaugural honorees include:

  • Susan Hughes (Grade 6) – Brandon School
  • D.J. Perry (Grade 3) – El Camino School
  • Amanda Sweigart (Grades 5/6) – Ellwood School
  • Cathy Gamboa (Grade 1) – Foothill School
  • Phoebe Ball (Kindergarten) – Hollister School
  • Marjorie Ryckman (Grade 4) – Isla Vista School
  • Tracy Bowen (Kindergarten) – Kellogg School
  • Laura Buratto (Grade 5) – La Patera School
  • Kellie Pearson (Grade 4) – Mountain View School

At the January meeting of the Goleta Union School District Board of Trustees, Superintendent Bill Banning introduced the new recognition program that will annually spotlight outstanding teachers at each school. “The purpose of this recognition is to highlight the excellent service that is provided to students in classrooms throughout the District,” Banning said. “The teachers being recognized are true representatives of the high-quality, dedicated teachers we find in classrooms at every school.”

Teachers are eligible to be selected as a school’s Distinguished Educator if they have a minimum of eight years of classroom teaching experience and have earned the respect of their peers and their school principal. The District Distinguished Educator is selected from among the nine school honorees by a panel of principals and District leaders. As the District Distinguished Educator, Marjorie Ryckman will now become the GUSD nominee for Santa Barbara County Teacher of the Year. Each County Office in California submits nominees to the California Department of Education for consideration as the State Teacher of the Year. State Teachers of the Year are then advanced to the U.S. Department of Education for consideration as the National Teacher of the Year.