GUSD Welcomes One New and One Returning Trustee

Photo by LeAnn Speshyock

On Wednesday night, returning Trustee, Susan Epstein (left), and new Trustee Yvonne DeGraw (center), took the official the Oath of Office and started their four-year terms with the Goleta Union School District Board of Trustees. Superintendent William Banning (right) adminstered the oath of office and welcomed the Trustees to the Board.

Epstein is beginning her third term, while DeGraw is joining the Board for her first term. DeGraw is taking the seat that was vacated last month when Dean Nevins left the Board after completing two terms. Because Epstein and DeGraw were the only candidates to file for the two open seats on the GUSD Board, there was no election required.

At the Board meeting that followed the Oath of Office, the Board also elected their officers for 2013. Valerie Kushnerov will serve as Board President, Pam Kinsley will be Vice President, and Rich Mayer will act as the Board Clerk.

The Board also scheduled their regular meeting dates for 2013, which are listed here.